The Aroma of Homemade Bakchang

Normally Sunday is my day to go Comics Mart at Midvalley megamall and “kill” people on table top gaming. But I am at home today instead to help my gf making bakchang – one of my most favourite chinese delicacy.

With the recession around the corner, bakchang can simply costs at least RM3 or even more, depending on what are the ingredients inside. If you ever know how much efforts are required, then you’ll understand why it costs a lot. And probably another reason could be is because less and less young people does not know how to make it.

My gf has spent years of her time to learn from her mother, even since she was in secondary school. It was always a failure for her, till last year (thanks to Jo). When I told people that my gf can make bakchang, their reaction would be ‘Wah!’. Even last week when she went to buy the  ingredients, the taukeh asked her ‘You know how to make kah? You don’t look like the one!’. Yes, this shows that only minority of young people know how to make bakchang now a day.

Preparing the ingredients isn’t an easy job at all.

IMG_8728

First of all, the rice need to be soak in water for overnight, fried and season to taste. Then, prepare the filling such as pork (the secret of a good bakchang rely on the seasoning), chestnut (soak in water and remove the skin), dried oyster and roasted peanut (to be grounded).

IMG_8731

After that, wash the bamboo leave and blanch in hot water.

IMG_8821

Once the above items are done, let’s start the wrapping now. Fold the bamboo leave into a cone shape then put in a spoon of rice.

IMG_8735

Add in the ingredients accordingly following by another spoon of rice on top. Looks simple, right?

IMG_8823

In fact the most difficult part is the folding and tying. If either one of the steps isn’t done properly, then the bakchang will open by itself while boiling. But this is what the beginners will experience, trial and error. Once you have lots of practice then you can sure master it properly.

IMG_8827

Ready to be boiled. Add in some salt into water or else the bakchang will end up being tasteless. There is no specific timing on how long it needs to be boiled, because this depends a lot on your kitchenware and method of cooking. Of course, once you’ve the experience, you’ll know approximately how long will it takes to cook.

Over this weekend, I get to try three different flavour of bakchang:

IMG_8856

The savoury bakchang which is the combination of my gf’s family secret recipe and KL’s style. I don’t like the taste of dried oyster but it’s her favourite, so my gf has to make two portions – with and without.

IMG_8838

Here’s the new flavour that I never try before. It’s plain, no ingredients inside but to be eat together with sugar syrup (Gula Melaka). It satisfy my sweet tooth! ^_^

IMG_8850

This is my favourite amongst all three flavours and you can never get this elsewhere. The first time i tried it when Jo and my gf make it last year, it really make me crave for more. Well, this is definitely the most expensive bakchang also because pork cube isn’t cheap, especially in KL. Yet, 2 cans of porkcube can only make about 10 bakchang and you can only find cheap porkcubes in Kuching.

Tomorrow I will be bringing some bakchang for my Chinese colleague. Guys and gals, you’ll only get to have the savoury bakchang, the rest are for myself… muahaha. Anyway, hope you will like it and happy bakchang festival in advance!

3 Comments

Filed under Food

3 responses to “The Aroma of Homemade Bakchang

  1. Pingback: The Aroma of Homemade Bakchang

  2. Yummy! Looks delicious. I must try to make some one day – just so I can pass the tradition down to my kids later! And you are right. Chang prices keep going higher each year.

    • herbdonald

      Ya, now a day majority of younger generation don’t know how to make bakchang so we must not let bakchang dissapear like that

Leave a Reply

