Eat, eat, eat in Singapore

A month ago, I was in Singapore for one night trip. Besides the symphony orchestra, me being me, won’t miss any opportunity to try out any good food here.

Food Republic @ Wisma Atrium, Orchard Road

My gf was particularly missing the char kway teow mee here at Food Republic, Wisma Atrium. So we went there for brunch right after landed in Singapore.

IMG_8999

Each food republic in Singapore has its very own theme design.

IMG_8996

The most famous Thye Hong char kway teow that always have long queue, trust me its good and when you do order the food here. Be careful of the size, small, medium or large can mean a lot of difference.

IMG_8997

The portion is surprisingly huge, this is what we got for S$6, and this is medium size. Looks more like a portion for 3 people.

IMG_8990

Doesn’t it looks tantalising? Unlike our very own char kway teow, you can expect to see more kway teow instead of taugeh. Of course, the generous amount of pork sausage and deep-fried pork fat really give this dish be extra aromatic.

We also tried out the Sago and pamelo (S$2)… perfect choice to quench the thirst on sunny day.

IMG_8995

Hooters @ Clarke Quay

A day before we went to Singapore, my gf sms me that Hooters is now having the irresistible S$10 set lunch promotion. So how can I say NO to it?

IMG_9007

Hey guys, I know what’s in your mind? Hooters’ girls are sexy, their ‘hooters’ are big but stop dreaming else your other half will get angry at you soon. I cannot take the front pictures and usually the main event is at night.

IMG_9020

Anyway, don’t get jealous k! I wanted my gf to wear her Hooters singlet and join the girls for the taken picture, but she took this picture instead for me.

IMG_9025

Want to know what we had for our late lunch? Trust me, it’s really unbelievable that the 3-course set menu plus coffee/tea and soft drinks costs us only S$10. Excellent food without compromising on quality.

IMG_9012

Broccoli soup with garlic bread

IMG_9019

Lamb chop with mint and red wine sauce

And more…

A scoop of sinful yam ice cream

A scoop of sinful yam ice cream

By the way, Hooters also has a series of merchandise items for sale. The pricing is much higher compare to Hard Rock Cafe or Planet Hollywood. One baby-T costs about RM140… huhu… buy or not, I leave it to you.

Makan Sutra @ Esplanade

Frankly speaking, we really didn’t expect a very high class place like Esplanade will have an open air hawker center until my friend, Nicholas Low brought us there. I am sure that we will end up spending a lot at one of the fancy restaurants here if Nick wasn’t with us. Thanks again dude!

IMG_9144

I only had about 1/2 hour time for my dinner, but I don’t have to worry at all as the service here is really good. Food is ready within 10 minutes.

Even though I didn’t specify what do I want, but what my gf ordered really satisfy my tummy. For instance, this very big plate of osyter omelette (S$4) with large oyster. Simply love it!

IMG_9141

We noticed that prawn mee is one of the most sought after hawker food in Singapore. It is not spicy, it is dry; completely different from Penang’s version.

IMG_9140

There are many food that I wanted to try out, if I was not in a rush. Sure will be back again during my next trip for the August Toys and Anime convention.

Maxwell Hawker Center

We woke up really early on the next day and our first destination was Chinatown. While we thought that it should be the breakfast place for ‘early bird’, we couldn’t even find a place for food, except McD. Results of that, we walked for about 1km, with my heavy backpack and shopping bags.

I was surprise that how can my gf know about this place because it’s far yet unlike a favourite eating spot for tourist. (I only found out the answer later on the day that actually Jo and her used to go hunting for breakfast at Chinatown as well, like what we did today.) The most important part is, the food here is really very cheap! For the Singaporeans i meant.

IMG_9178

Not many stalls were opened that early. I thought that I could order something by myself but I am wrong. All the menu here are written in Mandarin, so I can only depend on the pictorial menu, if any. Somehow, this doesn’t means that I didn’t get to enjoy the food because this Loh Mee (Big / S$4) has lots of ingredients ie lobak, braised egg, chicken, shredded fried egg and etc.

IMG_9184

I also get to sample the Singapore Laksa (Small / S$2.50) which my gf ordered. If you asked me how does it taste, hmmm… the combination of Sarawak Laksa and Curry Laksa.Regardless, I still like it.

IMG_9177

Maxwell Hawker Centre, South Bridge Road (From Chinatown, walks towards the end then turn to your right. Go straight till you see a temple on your right and Maxwell Hawker Center is located adjacent to it)

Carl’s Jr.

We were having good time shop around in Vivo City till we had no choice but to take away our lunch. Carl’s Jr. is my favourite, especially the non-halal Carl’s Jr. in Singapore. Besides the pork burger which is must-have, we also bought the ‘french fries with minced beef and cheese’, which is really new to us. Unfortunately it was cold already when we were eating it at the airport, or else it would definitely taste better.

IMG_9197

So do I manage to tempt your palate? Enjoy!

Comments Off on Eat, eat, eat in Singapore

Filed under Food, Travel

Comments are closed.