Wedding Bliss: Chapter 9 – Thank You Speech

Just like any wedding does, the groom has to deliver a thank you speech during the wedding reception. But almost all the wedding we attended before, the groom will just say something like ‘Thank you for attending our wedding, thank you to our parents and family, we are so happy to see you all here’ because they never prepared in hand. And this is also the type of speech that we found it to be boring and meaningless.

So since the time when we started the wedding preparation, both of us already said we won’t want to be the same. Her Majesty drafted my speech months back but I was just too lazy to go through it till few weeks before the wedding. Here is the speech:

Many people would class standing up in front of a large audience and making a speech one of the most embarrassing things they ever have to do. And I am just one of them, as most of you know. So my speech is definitely going to be a quick and short one.

Well, first of all, I would like to… ooops, think I just forgot that I am married today, it should be “on behalf of my wife & I”…

Thank you all, especially those who fly in all the way from other countries for joining us here today to celebrate our big day! It’s a privilege to be in the company of so many people that are important in our lives and we’re delighted to welcome you here to share our special day with us.

Unfortunately, it’s not been possible to have everyone we love here with us today, including our precious tua pui lucyfurr, monster oreo and Chelsea girl who must be destroying the house right now. And to the rest, we know they’re here with us in spirit & they’re not only in our thoughts today, but more importantly they’re with us in our hearts.

We would like to thank you all for your generosity and the fantastic gifts you have bought for us. I can’t tell you how much they mean to us……… I will however be informing you in due course once I have had chance to list them on eBay!

“We” have been planning this wedding for about a year. Well, I say “we”, my wife Jocelyn actually did all the work, as one of the best things about being a man is that weddings seem to organise themselves. So to Jocelyn and everyone else who has helped organise today I would like to say a big thank you.

Of course the biggest thank yous of the day has to go to our respective parents and newly formed in laws. I would personally like to thank my parents for bringing me up so well, giving me the best possible start in life and helping to shape me into the person I am today. So, if this speech is offending anyone – blame them! And also to my parents in law, for letting me marry your daughter and welcome me into the family.

The next set of people we’d like to thank are the jimuis / bridesmaids, you girl did a very good job this morning and it is such a memorable experience for us. We will revenge soon.

Unfortunately, we can’t mention the bridesmaids without saying a few words about the best man and groomsmen! It’’s a bit of an unwritten rule at a wedding that under no circumstances must any of the best man or groomsmen look more handsome than the Groom – so cheers lads for making sure that that was never in danger!

Next, we’d also like to thank our witnesses, Paul and Aileen; Jennifer, Nicky and Simone for all your help in making today such a beautiful day.

A quick thank you also to all our wedding vendors who make our wedding day such a memorable occasion in our life. What a fantastic job you guys have done today. Thanks everyone!

Now, I would like to personally thanks my lovely wife, Jocelyn for agreeing to lower her standards enough to become my wife! My dear, you look absolutely stunningly gorgeous today. I was genuinely speechless when I finally got into your room this morning, after being ‘bully’ by the bridesmaid. You’re the love of my life, you are so beautiful, caring, sexy, smart, loving and (pause)… what’s that my dear, I can’t read your handwriting… I am incredibly proud to be able to call you as my wife. Thank you for having me as your husband!

I read somewhere that “You don’t marry the person you can live with, you marry the person you cannot live without”.

As many of you may not know, we actually met in the plane while flying down to Kuching from KL for my sister’s wedding at 5 years ago. She was seating on my seat as I was the last one who went into the plane and she thought that nobody is seating next to her. She gave me back my seat, then I borrowed the paper from her, after that start talking to her because bored in the plane. We exchanged hp no after that and I called her immediately at that night itself… just like any Hong Kong drama.

Jocelyn and I have a relationship where we could spend every waking minute together and not get bored. We both have very different interests, mine is games and games, Jocelyn is cooking and spending time with three cats, but our main interests are each other.

We have also gone through a number of obstacles in these five years time. Like what I always say, love is just like a ride on rollercoaster, it has its up and down. Without going through all these, we won’t know how much we love each other or learn how to appreciate what we have.

And planning our future together………… well Jocelyn plans it and I go along with it. Anyway, I hope we will be blessed with a football team very soon because I know she would be the best mum in the world.

Once again we would like to thank you all for coming here today, it truly would not have been the same without all of you, probably only a bit cheaper. We will go around later and speak to you all today.

Thank you very much and the most important is, enjoy yourself tonight

By the way, if there”s anyone who I”ve left out I”m genuinely sorry, it isn”t because Jocelyn and I don”t appreciate you, it”s because I”m old and useless!

I was very confident before the wedding that I can still deliver a good speech without a draft. But in reality, I am wrong. For certain unknown reasons, I was nervous that night. So our advice to all soon-to-be wed couple is, you must prepare your speech in advance. All the guest will expect to hear something touching or special from you, not just the typical two to three sentences kind of speech. Just google for some resources on how to write a wedding speech if you have no idea where to start off. You will find it useful!

Leave a comment

Filed under Tie the knot

Leave a Reply

